Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Med Head

CRITICS HAVE SAID

  • In the tradition of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, Patterson and Friedman manage to get deep inside mental illness, and show us what life looks like from that perspective…an amazing story of courage, fortitude and a family’s love, simply told.
    Terri Cheney, author of Manic: A Memoir
  • …both harrowing and heartbreaking, but is also a story of astonishing courage. This book stands as a testament to the amazing power of one family’s unconditional love for each other.
    Tess Gerritsen, author of The Bone Garden

IF YOU LOVE THIS BOOK, THEN TRY:

Chappell, Crissa-Jean. Total Constant Order. HarperCollins/Katherine Tegen, 2007.

Delano, Marfe Ferguson. Helen’s Eyes: A Photobiography of Annie Sullivan, Helen Keller’s Teacher. National Geographic, 2008.

Draper, Sharon M. Out of My Mind. Atheneum, 2010.

Freedman, Russell. Out of Darkness: The Story of Louis Braille. Clarion, 1997.

Hesser, Terry Spencer. Kissing Doorknobs. Laurel Leaf, 1999.

Hopkins, Ellen. Impulse. McElderry, 2007.

Little, Jean. Little by Little: A Writer’s Education. Viking, 1987.

Lord, Cynthia. Rules. Scholastic, 2006.

Miller, Sarah Elizabeth. Miss Spitfire: Reaching Helen Keller. Atheneum, 2007.

Trueman, Terry. Stuck in Neutral. HarperCollins, 2000.

Urban, Linda. A Crooked Kind of Perfect. Harcourt, 2007.

Wolff, Virginia Euwer. Probably Still Nick Swanson. Henry Holt, 1988.